Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Tottenham Hotspur FC

rsz_z

Chelsea welcome Tottenham Hotspur to Stamford Bridge this Saturday in another London Derby, after dispatching Fulham last week. Spurs started their campaign in a not-so-convincing fashion under former Chelsea manager Andre Villas Boas, but have gained some sort of stability after Tim Sherwood took over and now sit at fifth position in the Premier League table and in contention for the Europa League places.

Although Spurs have stuttered at home, they have had relative success away from White Hart Lane and would look to manage a draw at the Bridge, where they haven’t won in the last 24 years.

Earlier this season, the reverse fixture had ended in a 1-1 draw.

DATE & TIME: March 8, 2014 at 12:30 EST; March 8, 2014 at 17:30 GMT; March 8, 2014 at 18:30 WAT; March 8, 2014 at 19:30 CAT; March 8, 2014 at 20:30 EAT; March 8, 2014 at 23:00 IST.

VENUE: Stamford Bridge, London, England.

TV/STREAMING NEWS: The match will be telecast live on Fox Sports 3 in Australia, Sportsnet One in Canada, beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD in Egypt, Canal+ Sport in France, Sky SPort 1/HD in Germany, Star Sports 4 in India, Fox Sports HD in Italy, J Sports 2 in Japan, Astro Supersport in Malaysia, Fox Sports 2 in Netherlands, Canal+ Fútbol HD & Gol Stadium in Spain, beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD in UAE, Sky Sports 1/HD in UK and NBCSN in USA.
Chelsea TV will have live audio of the game.
The match is available on NBC Sports Live Extra in USA.
You can also catch the game on TalkSport Radio if you’re in Australia, Canada, Malaysia, UK or USA.

CHELSEA FC SQUAD NEWS: Marco Van Ginkel has returned to training, but is still a long way from featuring for the Blues. Eden Hazard picked up a knock in the friendly against Ivory Coast and has a swollen ankle, which will force him to take a late fitness test before the game.

TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR FC SQUAD NEWS: Erik Lamela, Etienne Capoue and Vlad Chiriches will all miss the game due to injuries. Christian Eriksen missed the Cardiff match, but is expected to return to the line-up.

REFEREE: Michael Oliver.

FORM INDEX: Chelsea – DWWDWW; Spurs – LDWWLW

FUN TRIVIA:

  • Chelsea are undefeated in their last 23 Premier League home matches.
  • Spurs have not won at Chelsea in the last 24 years in the Premier League.
  • Chelsea are undefeated in their last 16 home matches in all competitions.
  • Chelsea have kept a clean sheet in their last 3 home matches.

Chelsea players will have to fight fatigue and Mourinho would do his best to motivate them. Three points are crucial to maintain the lead at the top of the table with Liverpool closing in and Manchester City having two games in hand. Spurs are a gritty side, but nothing Chelsea cannot see off at their best.

5 Comments
  1. Martin, Norway. says

    Crucial match, come on Chelsea.

  2. Mc Ray Munlo says

    I urgue Chelsea players not misuse this opportunity despite some fatigue

  3. Fik says

    I think players know losing & drawing this game cost title race.

  4. Sajeda says

    Ah, I see what you mean where does it end though? Just the Premier League and Champions League? Or Championship too etc.You codlun’t put it in place in ALL 11-a-side footy across the board so then it’s no longer a level playing field if there are different rules in place for Premier League game and Sunday League games

  5. Yo, that’s what’s up truthfully.

Comments are closed.